News Flash

Posted on: February 16, 2024

Attack From Within

Attack from within

American society is more polarized than ever before. We are strategically being pushed apart by disinformation—the deliberate spreading of lies disguised as truth—and it comes at us from all sides: opportunists on the far right, Russia...
Read on...

Go to Libby Book Carousel
Posted on: February 16, 2024

Crosshairs

Crosshairs

NYC detective Michael Bennett teams up with a former Army Ranger and sniper whose long, unexplained absences from duty causes suspicions during the investigation of a serial killer.

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: February 16, 2024

Death of a Spy

Death of a spy

Sergeant Hamish Macbeth has some major problems to deal with - crimes and criminals, even law enforcement agents, that he doesn't want anywhere near his beloved Highland village in Lochdubh. Hamish is worried about how the locals, as well as thos...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: February 17, 2024

Deerfield Massacre

Deerfield massacre

Once it was one of the most famous events in early American history. Today, it has been nearly forgotten. In an obscure, two-hundred-year-old museum in a little village in western Massachusetts, there lies what once was the most revered but now totally fo...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: February 17, 2024

End of Story

End of Story

"I'll be dead in three months. Come tell my story."

So writes Sebastian Trapp, reclusive mystery novelist, to his longtime correspondent Nicky Hunter, an expert in detective fiction. With mere months to live, Trapp invites Nicky to his s...

Read on...

Go to Libby Book Carousel
Posted on: February 17, 2024

Fangirl Down

Fan Girl Down

Wells Whitaker was once golf's hottest rising star, but lately, all he has to show for his "promising" career is a killer hangover, a collection of broken clubs, and one remaining supporter. No matter how bad he plays, the beautiful, su...

Read on...

Go to Libby Book Carousel
Posted on: February 17, 2024

Get the Picture

Get the Picture Bianca Bosker

An award-winning journalist obsessed with obsession, Bianca Bosker’s existence was upended when she wandered into the art world—and couldn’t look away. Intrigued by artists who hyperventilate around their favorite colors and ...
Read on...

Go to Libby Book Carousel
Posted on: February 17, 2024

Ghost Orchid

Ghost orchid

LAPD homicide lieutenant Milo Sturgis sees it all the time: Reinvention's a way of life in a city fueled by fantasy. But try as you might to erase the person you once were, there are those who will never forget the past . . . and who can still find you. A...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: February 17, 2024

Lone Wolf

Lone wolf

Once a black book government assassin known as Orphan X, Evan Smoak left the program, went deep underground, and reinvented himself as someone who will go anywhere, and risk everything to help the truly desperate who have nowhere else to turn. Since then,...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: February 17, 2024

Murder in Hollywood

Murder in Hollywood

"From the outside, Hollywood starlet Lana Turner seemed to have it all—a thriving film career, a beautiful daughter, and the kind of fame and fortune that most people could only dream of. But when the famous femme fatale began dating mobste...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: February 17, 2024

Practical Optimism

Practical optimism

"As the first medical director and attending psychiatrist at the World Trade Center Mental Health Program, Dr. Sue Varma worked directly with civilian and first-responder survivors in the aftermath of 9/11. There, she met people at every point of the...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: February 17, 2024

The London Bookshop

The London Bookshop Affair

A new historical drama from Daughter of the Reich bestselling author Louise Fein, about a London bookshop involved in an espionage network, set against the backdrop of the Cuban Missile Crisis, perfect for fans of Kate Quinn and Pam Jenoff.In nuclear war,...

Read on...

Go to Hoopla Book Carousel
Posted on: February 17, 2024

The Lost Van Gogh

The Lost Van Gogh

For years, there have been whispers that, before his death, Van Gogh completed a final self-portrait. Curators and art historians have savored this rumor, hoping it could illuminate some of the troubled artist's many secrets, but even they have t...

Read on...

Go to Hoopla Book Carousel
Posted on: February 17, 2024

The Summer Bookclub

The Summer Bookclub

The rules of summer book club are simple:

  • No sad books
  • No pressure
  • Yessssss, wine!

Besties Laurel and Paris are excited to welcome Cassie to the group. This year, the book club is all about fill-your-heart reads, an escape from the chaos of the everyday&m...

Read on...

Go to Libby Book Carousel
Posted on: February 17, 2024

Why We Read

Why we Read

We read to escape, to learn, to find love, to feel seen. We read to encounter new worlds, to discover new recipes, to find connection across difference, or simply to pass a rainy afternoon. No matter the reason, books have the power to keep us safe, to ch...

Read on...

Go to Libby Book Carousel
Posted on: February 17, 2024

The Women

The Women

Women can be heroes. When twenty-year-old nursing student Frances "Frankie" McGrath hears these words, it is a revelation. Raised in the sun-drenched, idyllic world of Southern California and sheltered by her conservative parents, she h...

Read on...

Go to Libby Book Carousel

News Flash

News Flash

Posted on: December 18, 2023

Team STEAM

Tuesdays, 1/9 - 3/12, 4:15 pm. Ages 6-11. Team STEAM is a program run by high schoolers that brings free, fun, and engaging engineering experiences to children. Limited space. No session 2/20.

Children's News
Posted on: February 26, 2024

Cricut for Kids

Sunday, 3/10, 2 pm. Grades 4-8. Kids will learn how to use the Design Space software to create their very own Cricut designs to make things like cards, cups and t-shirts! Limited space.

Children's News
Posted on: February 26, 2024

Paint Along for Kids on Zoom

Friday, 3/15, 6 pm. Grades 1-5. Pick up for paint supplies starts Saturday, 3/9. Upon pickup, you will provide information to receive a Zoom link before the program.

Children's News

News Flash

Home

2 Stories
Posted on: January 25, 2024

Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (Vita) Program

We are pleased to announce the no cost, full-service SimplifyCT Volunteer Tax Assistance Program, providing free state and federal income tax preparation and e-filing, with special attention to seniors and low to moderate income households.

Details Home

News Flash

News Flash

News Flash

SoNo News

6 Stories
Posted on: January 24, 2024

NPL Tax Schedule

Check the dates and times for Tax Help at NPL.

Click here SoNo News
Posted on: January 8, 2024

New Arrivals

Check out the new arrivals in books, DVDs, and more!

Click here SoNo News
Posted on: January 3, 2023

Download Movies

Check out our digital movie collection on Hoopla.

Click here SoNo News
Posted on: January 3, 2024

Download E-books & Audiobooks

Check out our E-book & Audiobook collection on Libby.

Click here SoNo News
Posted on: January 3, 2023

Download Newspaper and Magazines

Check out our database of newspapers and magazines.

Click here SoNo News
Posted on: January 3, 2023

Stream Music

Check out our digital music collection on Hoopla.

Click here SoNo News

News Flash

Posted on: February 26, 2024

What Is the Women's Rights Movement?

womens right movement

Book suggestion: What Is the Women's Rights Movement? 

Chronicles the women's rights movement in the United States, from the beginning of the movement in the nineteenth century and the fight for equal rights in the 1960s to such ...

Read on...

SoNo Staff Picks
Posted on: February 26, 2024

Women in Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World

women in science

Book suggestion: Women in Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World 

A collection of artworks inspired by the lives and achievements of fifty famous women in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics, from the ancient world to th...

Read on...

SoNo Staff Picks
Posted on: February 26, 2024

Anthology of Amazing Women: Trailblazers Who Dared to Be Different

Anthology of Amazing Women

Book suggestion: Anthology of Amazing Women: Trailblazers Who Dared to Be Different 

NPL Catalog link & Amazon Link

Read on...

SoNo Staff Picks
Posted on: February 26, 2024

Amazing Women

amazing women

Book suggestion: Amazing Women

Shares the experiences of important women in history, including Aung San Suu Kyi, Arianna Huffington, and Madam C.J. Walker

NPL Catalog link 

Read on...

SoNo Staff Picks
Posted on: February 26, 2024

Dream Big, Little One

dream big little one

Book suggestion: Dream big, little one

Featuring 18 trailblazing black women in American history, Dream Big, Little One is the board book.

NPL Catalog & Amazon

Read on...

SoNo Staff Picks
Posted on: February 26, 2024

100 Women Who Made History: Remarkable Women Who Shaped Our World

100 women who made historyjpg

Book suggestion: 100 women who made history : remarkable women who shaped our world

NPL Catalog Link and Amazon Link

Read on...

SoNo Staff Picks

News Flash

News Flash